The Otakusphere: Downtiming on the Nightside in the Way Back Machine

Recently, I reached my 100th post, and I got to thinking that the nature of blogging seems to be to keep putting new stuff out there, but it’s pretty rare that we go back and look at the older stuff that people have done. Mostly because there’s usually a huge backlog and because usually we’ve been keeping up with our favorite bloggers. So in this edition of the Otakusphere I figured I’d step back into Mr. Peabody’s Way Back Machine and paw through some older blog posts from some of my favorite bloggers.

I’m not really sure how to categorize this one from far away no where, other than to say, “Oooo teenage girls are scary.” And spending an awful lot of time on YouTube, I’ve found that to be the case. If you think anime fans are prone to some rabid fanboyism then you should spend some time trawling through the comments on that site.

And one for the “stuck in the anime rut” pile, Michael at Anime| Otaku had at great post about feeling refreshed when he started watching School Days. I completely understand the sensation that the shows that I’ve been watching start to feel recycled. But on the other hand, I haven’t been there in a while. I don’t know if it’s just the fact that I watch a lot of stuff, or that I really have low expectations.

Speaking of my low expectations, I ran across bateszi’s listing of reviews for the end of the 2007 season. And I couldn’t help thinking, “Man, am I missing something here.” I really liked Claymore. I mean I didn’t think it was another Beserk. Honestly, I’d put it more in the category of Gantz. But even then, it got me clutching my sleeve and biting my knuckles. And I’m liking Code Geass. Is there just something wrong with me? Or am I just easily amused?

However, I can always trust CCY to say what I think, only better. Here’s an editorial post about how people tend to judge a series by its first episode. And that it might be more because of the serial nature of anime, rather than the fact that the first episode is really bad.

And because I couldn’t find Martin’s argument about whether anime is deep or not (a discussion I really wish I could have joined in on, but I kind of figure my opinion would have ruined it), I picked out this one on the “Hoo-hah” factor in anime. If you’ve watched “Scent of a Woman” then you probably know what that means. I’m not sure if I entirely agree that a show can be too manly. I think it depends on how it applies that extreme. This in essence is his argument here.

And last, but certainly not least, here’s a figure review from Happy Soda. I can’t ever get enough of these. I don’t know if it’s the photography or the figures themselves, but that plastic sure looks sexy. Man it makes me dirty to say that.

8 Comments

  1. Welcome to the ‘surreptitiously enjoying Code Geass‘ club. The washroom’s round the back and the bar’s through there.

  2. I generally don’t mine past content, unless I’m looking for opinions on a specific show. The idea of this post is pretty good, since you’ve done the mining for a lazy person like me.

  3. @ animanachronism – Yeah, I’m wondering what type of response I’m going to get if I write a review saying “It’s one of the best mecha shows i’ve seen in quite a while.”

    @ super-rats – Thanks. I noticed that the nature of blogs is to put out new stuff consistently. And honestly it’s pretty rare for me to go back at look at older stuff. I was thinking about doing more just because of that.

  4. Tumultuous applause from me, is what you’d get.

  5. 100 posts already? Nice job. It does feel like you post a lot, and pretty good content somehow too. *Konata thumbs up*

    Thanks for the link, and an interesting idea; I’d have to agree that I never really go back through the archives except when I’m watching a forever-old show and find the urge to see if anyone else wanted to castrate (or worship, etc) a particular character. I think another reason old stuff is generally swept under the mat is that since a lot of bloggers are not full-time writers it takes a while for them to find their style and voice, and so a lot of old posts are rubbish, out-dated, or both.

    Either that, or it’s because a lot of blogging, I think, is that ‘now’ factor, the ability to (hypothetically) have a discussion, and old stuff doesn’t reflect the cutting edge that well; the exception being the odd way-back machine trip, of course.

  6. I’m not sure about your take on Claymore, after all, how do you compare it to Gantz? Berserk is the most obvious comparison point and quite clearly, it’s had a massive aesthetic influence on the Claymore manga-ka. And honestly, all that said, I didn’t hate it, I just felt really apathetic about it, like it was a completely pointless story; especially considering it had such a poor, formulaic conclusion. I wish Madhouse had waited long enough for the manga to finish before deciding to animate it, the story had great potential, but clearly went off the rails once we hit the final arc and everything slowed down to snails pace. From frustration with Claymore is that it smacks of wasted potential.

    As for Code Geass, I liked it, but it remains a guilty pleasure. I’ll never be able to take it seriously because it’s just this blatant mash-up of every otaku genre designed from the first pen stroke to milk as much money from anime fans as possible. Like I said in my end of year review, it’s a “sensational failure”, but sensational none the less.

  7. @ CCY – That’s a good point. And a lot of the nature of the antennas (because that’s where I get most of my traffic) is “out of sight, out of mind” so once you post something it loses its flavor pretty quick and you have to post something else so you can stay hep.

    @ bateszi – Mostly I’d compare it on a plot type level. Both Gantz and Claymore were about longish fights between fairly normal people and big badass monsters. And on a tone level. The thing with Beserk is that (at least in watching it) is a lot more about the relationship between Guts and Griffith than it’s about winning the next battle. It’s not that I don’t have any problems with the ending ending, but I did think those fight scenes were interesting. And I thought it did a good job of switching up the tone and story type enought that I didn’t get bored with it. And I liked the idea of having a “cost” to powering up in what’s essentially a shounen fighting show. It’s not something that I’ve seen before.

    Honestly, I thought Code Geass was pretty clever. And in a lot of ways the best mecha show I’ve seen in a while. To be fair, my only complaint about it is that it either solved its complications too fast, or didn’t solve them at all. But hell it even made me buy into the Deus Ex Machina twist towards the end. I mean the mash-up in genres didn’t even bother me, mostly because they kept them tied enough together to form a cohesive whole. And it’s rare that I see an anti-hero turn into a hero and then turn back into an anti-hero. I wouldn’t hold it up as perfect, but there was a lot more that I liked about it then I didn’t like.

  8. hi … congrats for the century of posts. 🙂

    sorry i couldn’t post more, or interact more … maybe by the end of this semester 😦

    again, i give my congratulations! 🙂


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

